Business Services Award Recipients

  • 2023 - Muskego-Norway
  • 2022 - New Berlin
  • 2021 - Fort Atkinson
  • 2020 - Waupaca
  • 2019 - Waupaca
  • 2018 - Waupaca
  • 2017 - Pulaski, Field of Dreams Athletic Project 
  • 2016 - Necedah Area
  • 2015 – Greenfield
  • 2014 – Waunakee
  • 2013 – Sheboygan Area, InHealth Project
  • 2012 – New London, Energy Conservation Project
  • 2011 – Howard-Suamico, LEAN Process Medicaid Reimbursement
  • 2010 – Nicolet HS, WI School District Salary & Benefits Data Collection Tool
  • 2009 – Elmbrook, Cash Flow Borrowing Alternative
  • 2008 – Weyauwega-Fremont, Post-Employment Benefit Debt
  • 2007 – McFarland, Co-Curricular Programming and Food Service Dept. Partnership
  • 2006 – DC Everest, Reducing the Cost of Shipping
  • 2005 – Lodi and Middleton-Cross Plains, Joint Development of Facility Use Software
  • 2004 – Whitefish Bay, Intergovernmental Cooperation
  • 2003 – Sun Prairie Area, Master Facility Plan
  • 2002 – Kenosha Area, Staff Recruitment CD
  • 2001 – Sun Prairie Area, District Office Under One Roof
  • 2000 – Glendale-Mapledale, Shared Staff & Services for Two K-12 Districts
  • 1999 – Palmyra-Eagle Area, Wellness Program
  • 1998 – La Crosse, The Lunch Fund

Business Services Award

Sponsored by Baird Public Finance

Nominate a candidate by January 8, 2024 using this form! 

Background & Purpose of Award

School business officials are known for their innovative, meaningful contributions to the improvement of their profession and the efficiency of school districts. The WASBO Business Services Award was established to recognize outstanding practices and new ideas that result in significant contributions to school entities or the profession of school business management. Successful applications have focused on areas such as budgeting, construction, cost savings, energy conservation, food service, resource allocation, safety, transportation, and technology.

The WASBO Business Services Award is presented annually to an educational institution in Wisconsin which has implemented a business practice that has resulted in an improvement in service, increased efficiency, or more simply, a better way of doing business. This award gives you the opportunity to share these innovative efforts with peers and colleagues across the state. The recipient will be nominated for the ASBO International Pinnacle Award.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominations must be submitted by a current district professional WASBO member who is employed by the educational institution where the improved business practice has been implemented.

Selection Criteria

The award application should include:
  • An executive summary of the business practice, not exceeding one page, double-spaced.
  • A project summary should be organized to include the following six sections, with headlines for each. Limit each section to 200-300 words, or the entire document to 1,600-1,800 words. The summary may not identify the applicant, the school entity, or the geographic location of the applicant, or reference other materials.
    • Summary of project/idea.
    • How is this a new idea?
    • Why do you believe the project is innovative?
    • Is this project replicable by other school entities? What may be required of them to implement the practice?
    • Cite measurable examples of improvements and/or savings.
    • How has this new or improved practice benefitted students, staff, and the community and does it affect student achievement?
  • Additional exhibits to support the nomination.
  • School district or educational institution enrollment.
  • How the $1,000 award will be invested.


A check in the amount of $1,000 and a plaque will be awarded to the selected educational institutions at the annual WASBO Foundation Spring Conference.
The $1,000 award must be used to fund training opportunities, staff development, or attendance at relevant conferences that contribute to the continuing education of those staff members who serve on the business side of the educational institution. Those benefiting from these opportunities need not be members of WASBO.
The name of the winning educational institution shall be added to the plaque in the WASBO office and a letter of commendation shall be sent to the recipient’s school board by the Executive Director on behalf of the Board of Directors. Press releases will be sent to the local media.

Selection Process

The selection committee will include one person appointed by the WASBO President, one by Baird Public Finance and one retired WASBO member. The selection committee may request additional information or seek answers to questions at their discretion. The selection committee’s decision is final.