

WISCONSIN ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL BUSINESS OFFICIALS 2022-23 Board of Directors

Phil Frei ~ President
Holly Burr ~ President Elect
Tim Erickson ~ Past President
Brian Adesso ~ Treasurer
Demetri Andrews ~ Director
Audra Brooks ~ Director
Lynette Edwards ~ Director

Christine Hamiel ~ Director
Jeremiah Johnson ~ Director
Joe Ledvina ~ Director
Jeff Mahoney ~ Director
Joseph Marquardt ~ Director
Sarah Viera ~ Director
Mike Barry ~ Executive Director

Semi-Annual Business Meeting January 19, 2023 – 12:00PM Hilton Milwaukee City Center – Empire Room

MINUTES

President Frei called the meeting to order at 12:30PM.

President Frei introduced the Leadership Team and WABO Board. Special guests in attendance were Dee Pettack, SAA Executive Director; Mark Elworthy, Director DPI School Financial Services; Bob Soldner, Assistant Director DPI School Financial Services Team and Susan Piazza from DPI. Frei asked any members planning to retire to stand and be recognized. Bob Tess will be retiring later this year.

2023 George Gray WASBO New School Business Manager of the Year - David Ziegelbauer, Business Manager, New Holstein School District was recognized with enthusiastic comments from his superintendent and board member for the positive impact David has made in his district by powering through COVID, bringing transportation in house and his inspiring work ethic. This award is sponsored by Brown and Brown Insurance.

2023 School Business Manager of the Year - Kris De Bruine, Director of Finance/Personnel, Oostburg School District (nominated by Cedar-Grove Belgium and Oostburg School Districts). Superintendents from both districts recognized the positive impact she has had on serving students. Tera Rodgers noted the influence Kris has on the profession through mentoring those new to the profession. This award is sponsored by M3 Insurance.

2023 School Business Manager of the Year - Jerrud Rossing, Assistant Superintendent of Operations, Middleton-Cross Plains School District (nominated by Monona Grove School District) Jerrud was recognized for his accomplishments at Monona Grove which include the completion of three phases of energy efficient projects, the approval of a \$7 million facilities referendum & three operational referendums and the development of a new teacher retirement benefit that provides long-term fiscal sustainability for the district. This award is sponsored by M3 Insurance.

Nominating Committee Report – Nominating Committee member and Past President Tim Erickson announced the candidates running for the Board in 2023. Dave Hoh (Howards Gove) and Sarah Viera (Mequon-Thiensville) are candidates for President Elect. The President Elect will move through the chairs of President Elect, President and Past President. Candidates for two director positions for 3-year terms are: Bob Chady (Beloit), Jeff Gross (Arrowhead), Becky Hansen (Kimberly), Erin Wheeler (Middleton-Cross Plains). Voting will take place online in April.

President's Report – President Phil Frei shared briefly the positive reception WASBO U received from rural school districts through their participation at the first cohort underway this month. Additionally, Frei shared

how WASBO is moving forward on advocacy by sharing the state's story. Recent inflation has exacerbated budget challenges for Wisconsin's school districts. Frei continued by adding that as recently as 2011, Wisconsin's investment in per pupil spending was \$1166 above the national average, in 9 years, we have fallen \$754 below the national average, and this was before 2 years of \$0 increase to meet district inflationary increases. Before the 2021-23 funding freeze Wisconsin ranked 11th on per pupil spending in 2002 and in 2020 dropped to 25th in the nation on per pupil spending. Frei encouraged members to accept the challenge and speak for your students and schools to enhance awareness around the importance of school funding. Frei also thanked WASBO members for attending and those who presented at the convention.

Executive Director's Report – Barry began by recognizing all members for their work and thanked the Sun Prairie team for attending to support President Frei today. He also thanked Mark Elworthy and Bob Soldner for attending. WASBO appreciates the collaboration with the School Financial Services Team. Many ASBOs do not have the same type of relationship with their state department of public instruction. He is thrilled about the participation in WASBO U and looks forward to continued growth in this certification.

Approval of Minutes – It was moved by Tom Owens and seconded by Lynette Edwards to approve the minutes of the May 20, 2022 Business Meeting. The motion carried.

Treasurer's Report – "Trust me, everything is fine." Is how Treasurer Brian Adesso started his report. (A take on the keynote from Wednesday on Trust.) Adesso thanked members, vendors and sponsors for their continued support through the pandemic especially with sponsorships this year and as mentioned earlier the participation of districts in WASBO U. It was moved by Sarah Viera and seconded by Becky Hansen to approve the Treasurer's Report. The motion carried.

Old Business – There was no old business.

New Business – There was no new business.

There were no announcements from the membership.

The meeting adjourned at 1:06pm.